Skip to content

Beer Institute Partners with 96 Members of Congress to Curb Drunk Driving During National Impaired Driving Prevention Month


WASHINGTON, D.C. – To commemorate December as National Impaired Driving Prevention Month, the Beer Institute teamed up with 96 members of Congress – from both the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate – in its annual public service announcement (PSA) campaign urging Americans across the country to drink responsibly this holiday season.

“The Beer Institute greatly appreciates the 96 bipartisan members of Congress who lent their voices to reduce drunk driving and save lives in their districts and states,” said Jim McGreevy, Beer Institute President, and CEO. “America’s brewers and beer importers are committed to keeping our roads safe and wish everyone a safe and happy holiday season.”

According to the U.S. Department of Transportation, drunk-driving fatalities have decreased by 51 percent since 1982.

In partnership with the National Association of Broadcasters, 96 lawmakers recorded PSAs, which are available during December. Local radio stations interested in using the PSAs can download them through the National Association of Broadcasters’ Spot Center:

The following members of Congress participated in the PSA campaign:

  • Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
  • Sen. Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
  • Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX)
  • Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT)
  • Sen. Maggie Hassan (D-NH)
  • Sen. Ron Johnson (R-WI)
  • Sen. Angus King (I-ME)
  • Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS)
  • Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
  • Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH)
  • Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX)
  • Rep. Jim Banks (R-IN)
  • Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL)
  • Rep. Michael Bishop (R-MI)
  • Rep. Rodney Blum (R-IA)
  • Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (D-GU)
  • Rep. Mike Bost (R-IL)
  • Rep. Robert Brady (D-PA)
  • Rep. Mo Brooks (R-AL)
  • Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO)
  • Rep. Bradley Byrne (R-AL)
  • Rep. Tony Cardenas (D-CA)
  • Rep. Andre Carson (D-IN)
  • Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA)
  • Rep. Mike Coffman (R-CO)
  • Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN)
  • Rep. Gerry Connolly (D-VA)
  • Rep. Jim Costa (D-CA)
  • Rep. Charles Crist (D-FL)
  • Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-TX)
  • Rep. John Culberson (R-TX)
  • Rep. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL)
  • Rep. Danny Davis (D-IL)
  • Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-WA)
  • Rep. Jeff Denham (R-CA)
  • Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL)
  • Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
  • Rep. Daniel Donovan (R-NY)
  • Rep. Sean Duffy (R-WI)
  • Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC)
  • Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX)
  • Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)
  • Rep. Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ)
  • Rep. Gene Green (D-TX)
  • Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA)
  • Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD)
  • Rep. Denny Heck (D-WA)
  • Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX)
  • Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA)
  • Rep. Lynn Jenkins (R-KS)
  • Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA)
  • Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
  • Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA)
  • Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA)
  • Rep. Raul Labrador (R-ID)
  • Rep. Darin LaHood (R-IL)
  • Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ)
  • Rep. Jim Langevin (D-RI)
  • Rep. Jason Lewis (R-MN)
  • Rep. Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
  • Rep. Dave Loebsack (D-IA)
  • Rep. Billy Long (R-MO)
  • Rep. Tom MacArthur (R-NJ)
  • Rep. Tom Marino (R-PA)
  • Rep. Roger Marshall (R-KS)
  • Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC)
  • Rep. Paul Mitchell (R-MI)
  • Rep. Alex Mooney (R-WV)
  • Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-CA)
  • Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ)
  • Rep. Gary Palmer (R-AL)
  • Rep. Erik Paulsen (R-MN)
  • Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA)
  • Rep. Scott Peters (D-CA)
  • Rep. Ted Poe (R-TX)
  • Rep. Bruce Poliquin (R-ME)
  • Rep. Jared Polis (D-CO)
  • Rep. Mike Quigley (D-IL)
  • Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-TX)
  • Rep. Todd Rokita (R-IN)
  • Rep. Peter Roskam (R-IL)
  • Rep. Keith Rothfus (R-PA)
  • Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)
  • Rep. Mark Sanford (R-SC)
  • Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA)
  • Rep. Adam Schiff (D-CA)
  • Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI)
  • Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL)
  • Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA)
  • Rep. Scott Tipton (R-CO)
  • Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY)
  • Rep. Mark Walker (R-NC)
  • Rep. Jackie Walorski (R-IN)
  • Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)
  • Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)
  • Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)


 The Beer Institute is a national trade association for the American brewing industry, representing brewers of all sizes, as well as beer importers and industry suppliers. First founded in 1862 as the U.S. Brewers Association, the Beer Institute is committed today to the development of sound public policy and to the values of civic duty and personal responsibility. For additional updates from the Beer Institute, visit our website, follow @BeerInstitute on Twitter, like the Beer Institute on Facebook, and follow the Beer Institute on Instagram.